Cullen wins Parliamentarian of the Year award for “Best Orator”

OTTAWA – Skeena—Bulkley Valley MP is this year’s winner of the Parliamentarian of the Year award for Best Orator in the House of Commons.

“I’m truly humbled to have won this award, and very thankful to my colleagues for voting me this honour,” said Cullen. “My best speeches are when I'm able to talk about the BC's Northwest and the amazing people who make it home.”

Every year, parliamentarians vote by a secret ballot to nominate their colleagues for one of the eight awards, ranging from Most Collegial to Best Rising Star. This marks the second year running Cullen has won an award at the event – he won Most Knowledgeable MP at the 2014 event, which was the last year the contest was run due to the federal election in fall 2015.

Interim Conservative leader Rona Ambrose won Hardest Working MP, and it was a good night for Canada’s New Democrats, as NDP leader Tom Mulcair won the event’s signature award for Best Parliamentarian of the Year, and former NDP leader Ed Broadbent was honoured with the ceremony’s Lifetime Achievement Award. The full list of award winners is available here