Seventh Annual BC Community Achievement Awards

The Seventh annual BC Community Achievement Awards were recently announced and four of these noteworthy individuals are from the Skeena-Bulkley Valley.

Premier Gordon Campbell noted their contributions with the following:

“Together, British Columbians have built a stronger province and we gather confidence from those who have consistently and honourably created safe and caring communities. I applaud the outstanding contribution these individuals have made to regions throughout British Columbia and their commitment to making our province the best place on earth.”

“The initiative, impact and inspiration to others demonstrated by this year’s award recipients warrants public affirmation,” added Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation. “We’re privileged to showcase and celebrate the contributions of these exceptional British Columbians.”:

The 2010 BC Community Achievement Award Recipients from the Northwest are:

Jane Dickson, Terrace Since 1986, Jane Dickson has been a member of the Terrace and District Multicultural Association, an organization established to create and foster an inclusive and welcoming community. Jane is vice-chair of the Skeena Diversity Society and also serves as secretary of the Terrace Art Gallery. For over 20 years, Jane has supported Terrace Women and Development supporting projects for women and families in developing countries.

Braunwyn Henwood, New Hazelton Braunwyn Henwood’s pragmatic approach and her enthusiasm for community initiatives enhance the quality of life in the Hazeltons. Braunwyn has been the volunteer liaison for Measuring Up the North, an initiative that considers the needs of the disabled and elderly. Braunwyn is a director of the Skeena Supportive Employment Society and was instrumental in the establishment of the New Hazelton Skate/Bike Park.

Kris Olsen, Haida Gwaii Kris Olsen is a role model and a strong voice for young people in Haida Gwaii. Kris rejuvenated the teen centre by forming a society to ensure its stability and its continuation as a safe and welcoming venue for all youth. Kris coaches a variety of sports, is a special education assistant and has developed links among the youth in the islands. Kris is an elected village councillor.

Lynn Shervill, Smithers A compassionate contributor to Smithers, Lynn Shervill has spearheaded important healthcare programs in his region. As a registered nurse, he has been instrumental in both the development of the Smithers Community Cancer Clinic and improved access to palliative care. In addition, Lynn is a founding member of the Driftwood Foundation, dedicated to preserving the back country as a community asset.

For a complete listing of this year’s recipients, please see the Terrace Daily Online Article of March 16th which can be found at the following link: Local Resident Jane Dickson receives acheivement award